The Inevitability of Decline

It’s bound to happen. Someone is “offended” by what you think or say, and the only thing to do is destroy your voice. This is happening all over the Internet, television, books, newspapers, radio and government. The idea that people have a right to go through life without hearing something they don’t like is becoming a monumental problem.

Do I personally think things are offensive? Sure I do. I’m human. But I don’t get the idea that because I’m offended I can silence the other person. Only the government can censor, but there is a huge difference between censorship and chilled speech. Using the courts (or the U.N. over the ludicrously laughable “cyber-violence”) to stifle what is freedom of speech over “Feelings” is about as useful as a poop-flavored lollipop. The difference between being a me and an authoritarian is I don’t believe in other people’s power to silence (or the government’s either). Zoe Quinn and her ilk do. She doesn’t feel the need to have to prove her accusations. She believes in “guilty until proven innocent” for things as innocuous as disagreement.  Her and Anita Sarkeesian are textbook examples of authoritarians.  May they never gain another inch of ground against freedom and free-expression.

I for one don’t want to live in a world that punishes speech. There is no such thing as “hate speech”.  Words have no actions. They don’t offend unless YOU let them.  Stop letting them and grow up.  It’s not that hard to do. We all have to at some point, so stop clinging to your infantile past and join the real adults at the big table.  We even let you fart at meal time.

