I think I’m done with Twitter

I say this often, but this time I’m just not interested anymore. I cultivated a small following (of some bands, some websites and people who I liked to read), but I didn’t care who followed me. I guess I’m just not that interested in popularity. I never was, really. And so much of twitter relies on your “like” ratio, and whether or not you get tons of complaints from people who don’t like what you say. I really don’t care, because it’s certainly not a forum for actual discussion. At 140 characters a pop, you can’t easily express linguistic nuance, nor can you filter the idiotic chaff of trolls without a lot of work. I don’t mind the trolls, but when you’re trying to discuss something properly, a bunch of silly stuff gets in the way (perhaps that’s by design to create noise that makes tweets seem less coherent. That certainly would explain the S/N ratio on twitter.com).

Twitter takes too much time. I have things I want to do, and I figured recently that a good 12 hours a week or more (5 day/week period Mon-Fri) is spent repeating myself on Twitter. Couple that with the inane idiocy of the “Safety Council”, and you’ve got a waste of time and energy rather than a quick time-waster between compiles. I need to start playing my backlog of games too, or I’ll forget where I was and have to start over (I think I am going to have to start over on Darkest Dungeon…. and a good thing, too. I really suck at that game.)

So people who like Twitter can continue to like it. I’m not trying to convince people to ditch the site. I simply am not interested anymore. And the “powers that be” in the Social Media realm have polar opposite views to mine, and I run the risk of being banned anyway. Let them have their fun. I’m out. Good to talk to most of my twitter follow-list. Some needed to take a chill-pill when people disagree, but they generally blocked me anyway because I was a “troll”. *shrug* Good for them. But I’m out. I’m done. I’ll write more here in the meantime anyway. But now it’s off to watch some TV and rest my mouse pointing shoulder.

my_pirate

