Rambling on…

I tend to do this for no other reason than to jot down notes about what I’m thinking about. Like for instance, I’m trying to get the object hierarchy of Qt (PyQt in particular) to change the mask of a field in a table view (turning integer epoch time to a HH:MM:SS) and it’s not going as well as I hoped. I’m stymied as to where the pieces connect. I have a partial picture (I have no problem handling table-wide methods, but when I get down to the field, it starts to deflate.) I’m not worried, though. I’ll eventually figure it out.  It is frustrating however.

Which leads me to my next point (quite a segue!) I am not as good as I used to be at context-switching. It’s as if my brakes on my brain are wearing out. It’s taking longer to stop and start than it used to. Maybe brakes isn’t a good analogy, more like gear-shifting. It takes me longer to get to 4th or 5th gear than it used to (being deep in thought about a particular problem), and it’s mostly due to age and I would guess a little stress now and again. I’ve much less stress than I used to (most of it was self-induced anyway, so once I figured that out, it started to click elsewhere.) Heck, learning that got me off my high blood pressure medicine. I don’t take things too seriously, and when I do, it’s not panicky. 🙂

I need to have a more metered approach to learning something. I am going to fiddle with PyQt (and Qt in general, using C++) at home more often. I think I can master it in a few weeks’ time. I have a couple of good books on PyQt (well one good one and one “mini” book). All I need to do is get back into the swing of C++ (it’s been a while) and I can get my Qt stuff working in C++ so I can understand the python bindings. (Or at least realize what calls what so I can drill down to the part of the widget or class I need. heheheh.)

I need to start focusing anyway. I’ve had my Raspberry Pi set up to be a file server for a while now and haven’t gotten around to putting my rsync into the system to make sure my backups are more regular. I need another 1TB laptop USB drive, I think. 🙂

 

