PC Gaming

I know people love their PCs for gaming, but I have had my fill of patches/updates to the Windows OS. I sat down at 7pm this evening intending to play a game or two, but as of now (1opm) I have not been able to because I haven’t turned on my Windows PC in two weeks. The sheer number of “patches” are astonishing. That wouldn’t be such a big deal, but apparently every patch these days requires a reboot. Sorry, Windows, I don’t have to do that when I patch my Debian machine. The only time I truly “need” to reboot is when the kernel changes (not the modules associated with it, but the actual kernel). It makes you wonder why people still use Windows. It’s certainly not because all you need to do is turn it on to play games.

This is how Microsoft’s consoles are too. “Please wait, you must update your Xbox to sign in to Live.” Blah blah blah. Yep, this is one of the reasons I use Linux as my main operating system today. Not because I hate Windows (I do, but for good reasons) but because I am tired of rebooting and resetting and installing “updates” every few days that require a reboot. If it didn’t require a reboot, it’d be fine. But Windows takes far too long to become responsive after a reboot for it to be something that reboots this often. I know there are plenty of people who will disagree, and I’m not going to try to change your mind how you feel about Linux, but give it a try. Just one time. You might be like me and become a full-time Linux user that keeps a Windows machine out of curiosity. When Microsoft quits supporting Windows 7, I’ll be turning that machine into a Linux box. It’s the right thing to do. I might simply turn it into a SteamOS machine. 🙂

