Clementine vs. Amarok

I’m still giving KDE the due diligence and not rage-quitting too soon. I know this is a desktop that has lots of customization. The one thing I decided early on was that my music library was too big for Amarok though. I’m sure if I gave it enough time, it’d fill in and scan all my music (all 840GB of it.) But I rather like Clementine’s quick study of my library. It was hilariously quick. I enjoy the interface (I am not always on board with the “KDE apps only” or “Gnome apps only” ideal.) I do like how they all interact with each other (the WM’s apps) but they inter-operate much more smoothly now.

After working with the two players, I have to say that if you have a large library like I do (decades upon decades of CDs ripped and mp3’s bought from places like Amazon, etc.) the best tool is Clementine. Nothing against the very capable Amarok, but it doesn’t like large (huge?) music libraries.

I’ve toyed with the idea of splitting up my library, but I never find the time to do it.  Heavy Metal is the best genre of music. I have 840GB to prove it. (99% of it is, of course metal.) 🙂

 

