R.I.P. John Wetton (1949-2017)

I’ve been bummed when a singer or musician dies, particularly one I really enjoyed hearing (especially my teen years.)  When Kevin Dubrow passed away, I was sad, and in some ways still am, given the future he had with music and the revived Quiet Riot. Then Lemmy died, but he was just an icon of metal and rock to me.  I was sad, but Motorhead’s music wasn’t my favorite. I liked it, but I never played it over and over like Quiet Riot. Or for that matter, Twisted Sister. When A.J. Pero died, I was really, really bummed. I still have my Twisted Sister poster on my closet door. A.J. is in the center, raising a fist for metal. I still get a bit teary-eyed when I hear something from Stay Hungry. Knowing he’s gone, and he had more to do as well. I will forever point to Quiet Riot and Twisted Sister for my love of Metal.

But one singer/bassist died yesterday that ripped my heart out of my chest. He had a long career, like Lemmy, but his music is something I listened to almost every day since I first bought Asia’s self-titled debut in 1982. I still have my original LP, that I think I will frame now that John’s gone. I don’t know what else to do. I’m a bit numb. All my favorites are dying, retiring, or who knows what. I know this is how old age must feel, but I am still going to miss Mr. Wetton’s voice. It was singularly unique and always soothing to hear. I don’t know what will happen to Asia now, but I am glad they reunited. It would’ve been a crime only to have John on three records. I’m listening to “Rock of Faith” right now, and it’s hard to imagine he’s gone. He has left a great catalog of music and awesome musicianship to us, but what can I do to stop feeling blue?

If I could go back in time and tell my 12 year old self to do one thing, it’d be “enjoy every day. Stop wishing you were older.”  I’ll never get those days back listening to Asia on my Sears record player. And we’ll never see the likes of John Wetton again. His work opened up musical doors for me that I will be forever grateful for. I hope he knew how much we loved him.artists_johnwetton

Goodbye Mr. Wetton.  I always loved your music. You touched the world and your legacy will live on.  I, and the world, will miss you.

