Retron 5

Now that I’ve used it for a time (a long time actually), I have grown rather fond of it. I don’t necessarily care about the HD portion (though now that I use a 24″ television as a monitor, it’s much more convenient), but the emulation is very good. I have all my retro-esque consoles hooked up now, with the exception of my PS1. It’s not that I don’t want to plug one in, it’s just that I don’t have the room on the computer desk/entertainment center. 🙂

The console is quite playable with the supplied bluetooth controller, but I prefer using the actual system controllers when possible. (I have a Genesis/SNES/NES controller set plugged in at all times, and surprisingly, you can use any of them for any other emulated console, of course the # of buttons will be the deciding factor.)  If you wanted to play Super Mario Bros 3 with an SNES controller, it is possible (and quite usable).

On the other retro-console front, I decided to get my original XBox out of mothballs (I only have one other spare, and one with a dead DVD drive that I could possibly fix in the future) and play a few games. I am shocked how good it was for the time. I enjoy playing Gauntlet:Seven Sorrows on it the most (better than the PS2 version.)

I’ll plug in Morrowind at some point, after I play KOTOR again. (well, finish it for once.)

I guess at some point I’ll turn on my PS4 again. 🙂  Last time I turned on my PS3 was to play Robotron:2084 on the Midway Origins collection. 🙂

 

